Around the Club

Great End to a Great Season on Trophy Night

Winners are definitely grinners and there were plenty of smiles at the Trophy Presentation and End of Season function.
Congratulations once again to all trophy recipients and thanks to all our sponsors.
Club Patron Chris Tallentire MLA presented Ladies Novice Championship to Kerry Cunynghame and Runner up Judy Harris. He presented Mixed Championship Fours
to Brian Keighley, Akka Bill, Ros Little and Cheryl Keighley. Runners up – Ray Roper, Marianne Cameron, Wayne Reeves & Shirley Roper and Plate – Nigel Tulett, Linda Bryant, Rob Wiringi & Sue MacKay.
Hazel McGinty presented Mixed Championship Pairs to Michael Sharpe & Trish Klisc. Runners up – Glenn Lynch & Sue MacKay. Plate – Julie Stokes & Phil Deas.
She then presented Ladies Championship Fours to Marianne Cameron, Marg Fletcher, Jayne Archibald & Marg Frederickson. Runners up – Angela Sharpe, Marlene Yates, Helen Vaulters & Rose Woodhouse. Plate – Pat Richter, Maureen Dalton, Val Weaver & Jo Dunne.
Chris presented the Men’s Championship Fours on behalf of Pappas Pizza to Peter Haley, Steve Harris, Nigel Tulett & Ian Farley. Runners up – Rocco Saffiotti, Phil Deas, Gary Peers & Ivan Traeger. Plate – Brett Holland, Mike Rickard, Trevor Auckland & Harley Jenkins. Michelle Lennox presented the Ladies Championship Triples on behalf of Scenic Lake Estate to Marg Dillon, Gloria McDonald & Lynley Jury. Runners up – Marion Cameron, Marg Frederickson & Sue Haley. Plate – Norma Smith, Linda Mellors & Marg Munn.
Hazel then presented the next five trophies, beginning with Men’s Championship Triples to Brett Holland, Trevor Auckland & Mike Rickard. Runners up – Rocco Saffiotti, Peter Haley & Nigel Tulett. Plate – Phil Deas, Harry Beet & Greg Cunynghame.
Ladies Championship Pairs was won by Angela Sharp & Marlene Yates. Runners up – Anne Crabb & Sharon Lyster. Plate – Julie Stokes & Marg Munn. Men’s Championship Pairs went to Trevor Auckland & Greg Strachan. Runners up – Frank Carbone & Glenn Morgan. Plate – Grant Anderson & Mark Beauchamp.
The Ladies Championship Singles was won by Margaret Munn. Runner up Sharon Lyster & Plate Linda Bryant.
The men’s Championship Singles was won by Glenn Lynch, Runner up Colin Watters & Plate Dean Scott. Maureen Dalton presented the Saturday Ladies Pennant Team of the Year to Pat Richter, Marg Dillon, Sherryl & Sue Haley. She then presented the Tuesday Ladies Pennant Team of the Year to Pat Richter, Marg Dillon, Jayne Archibald & Sue Kershaw.
The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the Lady and Men’s Bowlers of the Year.
There was a tie in the Lady Bowler that could not be separated! The two top ladies were Marianne Cameron and Margaret Munn.
Trophies were presented by Life Member Jean Pitter to two very excited, but humble winners.
The Men’s Bowler of the Year went to Glenn Lynch who enjoyed a great season of bowls.
Congratulations to the winners.
The final awards for the evening were the Club Persons of the Year.
There were two trophies awarded for the Lady Club Person of the Year, as Management Committee were tied in their votes and could not be split. Beth Clark received her second such title for her continued dedication to the Club, particularly in her role as Functions Co-ordinator. Life member Beth is always on hand and fulfils so many other duties on a daily basis.
Penny Wright was the second recipient for her role as Marketing/Communications Co-ordinator.
The Men’s Club Person of the Year was awarded to Phil Deas. Phil has not only served on committees during the year, but has been involved in Dad’s Army, preparation of greens and Chair of Men’s Selection Committee among many other tasks.
Congratulations to all trophy winners and award recipients.