Around the Club

And The Season Has Begun!

Last Saturday, 5 September, heralded in the Club’s Opening Day and Life Member’s Afternoon Tea.
The official opening was conducted by President Peter Charkiewicz and Club patron Chris Tallentire MLA.
This was followed by the rolling of the first bowls on the green for the 2020/2021 season by the President, Patron and the Captains Angela Sharp and Grant Anderson.
Members took over to roll the closest to the spider, who took a lot of punishment!
Skippers were chosen, followed by a pop stick draw for lead, second and third.
Once on the greens for the 14 end opening game, the competition was fierce. No quarter was given and there were glimpses of what the opposition clubs can expect this season!
The final results for the day were close between the top four.
Ray Roper’s team lost out on third by a count-back on ends.
Coming in third place were Peter Haley’s team of Billy Stokes, Margaret Frederickson and Nooni Nilon on + 15 shots.
In second place was Grant Anderson’s team of Graham Frederickson, Jayne Archibald and Gloria McDonald on + 16 shots.
The winners was Harry Beets team of Cathy Hopewell, Dave Locke and Fred Laycock on +17 shots.
Great effort everyone!
It was wonderful to see Life Members Jean Pitter, Brian Fox, Angela Sharp, Maurice Crabb, Maureen Dalton, Gordon Bradford and Albert Pedrotti.
These are the people who have dedicated themselves to the Club over many years and we recognise there amazing contribution.
Sincere thanks to Ann Noble, Ray Roper, Grant Anderson and John Hoskins for running the bowls.
To Chris Emery, Marg Dillon, Annette Sheridan and Jo Dunne plus the other ladies who helped in the kitchen – Great job!
Sincere congrats to Margaret and Graham Frederickson who celebrated 56 years together!
The season has now begun so Fly High Kookaburras!